Changes and a Playlist

Since graduating from University (Union and general campus life), much time has spent thinking how best to direct this blog. Do I carry on posting the same general topics as my peers regarding Further & Higher Education, Society & Citizenship, Welfare, Crime etc or do I move on in a different avenue altogether?

Much has happened since graduation; some good but mostly bad times, I have had to move back to my hometown, for example. But what has tied all of these times together exactly? What is the one thing, other than my family and friends, that is there for me and seems to know my mood, despite me not letting anything on to the contrary?

It’s my iPod, or more appropriately music. Live, loud, long, short, soft or full-on rock. I have devoured into music as of late, and when I say devoured I kid you not. There is still a mountain of CDs by my stereo that still need to be ripped to my hard-drive. I suppose the last time I was into music as heavily and as passionately as I am at the moment was when I was working two jobs during A-levels, but even then it was not to the extent that I am at present. Want an idea? Ok, then well you asked for it:

– Adele – 21
– Alkaline Trio – This Addiction
– Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
– Beady Eye – recent singles
– Beck – Mellow Gold
– Biffy Clyro – back catalogue, except Puzzle and Only Revolutions
– The Black Keys – Brothers
– James Blake
– The Bloody Beetroots – Best Of…Remixes
– Blur – Parklife
– Blur – Think Tank
– Burial – back catalogue
– The Chemical Brothers – Further
– Crystal Castles
– Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles II
– Daft Punk – Tron Legacy: Original Soundtrack
– Deadmau5 – 4×4=12
– Delphic – Halcyon
– The Desert Sessions – both volumes
– Rose Elinor Dougall – Without Why
– Elastica
– Flight Of The Conchords
– Flight Of The Conchords – I Told You I Was Freaky
– Foo Fighters – White Limo (new song from new album)
– Four Tet
– The Gaslight Anthem – American Slang
– Glee Cast – Thriller/Heads Will Roll (Mash-up)
– The Good The Bad & The Queen
– Gorillaz – D-Sides
– Gorillaz – Plastic Beach
– Cee-Lo Green – The Lady Killer
– Interpol
– Jessie J – recent singles
– The Joy Formidable – The Big Roar
– Kyuss – Blues For The Red Sun
– Kyuss – …And The Circus Leaves Town
– Les Savy Fav – Root For Ruin
– LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening
– Magnetic Man
– Manic Street Preachers – Postcards From A Young Man
– Mona – recent singles
– Pavement – Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain
– The Pixies – back catalogue, except Doolittle
– The Prodigy – Invaders Must Die
– Queens Of The Stone Age (can’t wait for re-release on Domino Records, mainly been checking YouTube vids for a fix of their debut)
– Queens Of The Stone Age – Era Vulgaris
– Radiohead – Pablo Honey
– Radiohead – The Bends
– Radiohead – OK Computer
– Radiohead – Kid A
– Radiohead – Amnesiac
– Radiohead – Hail To The Thief
– Radiohead – In Rainbows
– Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie xx
– The Smiths – back catalogue, except The Queen Is Dead
– Them Crooked Vultures
– These New Puritans – Hidden
– Thom Yorke – The Eraser
– Warpaint – The Fool
– Weezer – back catalogue, except Weezer and Pinkerton
– The White Stripes – back catalogue, especially in light of their split
– The xx
– Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Master EP
– Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!
– Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll (A-Trak Remix)

So I guess that’s where my blog is headed. Every once in a while I’ll reviews and music, update you with a playlist of the month and then you can discuss amongst yourselves accordingly

I’ll also welcome any recommendations too.

2 thoughts on “Changes and a Playlist”

  1. Sounds like a blog worth reading, a considered view open to new ideas and suggestion.

    I’ve got to say that I’m a big iPod user myself, it would certainly be I’m my list of things to have If stranded on a dessert island, I’m always looking for new combinations of music that work as playlists so look forward to reading what you come up with; why not post your top 10 most played from your iPod?

Leave a Reply

